I’m Back… Summer 2014

Hello everyone,

I just wanted to send a little note to say that regular updates will continue throughout the summer as I have returned from three months working in Ontario (officially returning on July 1st). A lot has happened since I’ve been away so I thought I would highlight some of the stuff I have been working on. I expect my first substantial update to take place on Monday, July 7th. Here are some short notes of what I’ve been working on:

1. Armouries Expropriation

One of the projects I dropped due to my work obligations was research I was conducting on the lands expropriated to make way for the construction of the Armouries at the corner of North Park and Cunard streets. I am nearly ready to post the results of this research which I hope to share over two posts in the coming weeks.

2. Gottingen 250 Festival

Since October 2013 I have been involved with the organizing committee of the Gottingen 250 Festival that is coming this fall to the North End. Its going to be a great time. Over the course of the summer and leading up to the actual event I hope to highlight some of the events, people, buildings and what not that I have uncovered leading up to festival. As co-chair of the History Committee we have some interesting things to roll out between now and September. So keep your eyes open.

3. Photo Project

Over the summer I am going to be putting out a call to current and former residents of the Old North End for photos of the area which I can highlight on the website, do some research on and what not. If you have any old photos please send them to me at: disasternat@gmail.com.

This is just a bit of what I hope to accomplish over the summer and I thank you all for your continued support and I look forward to getting Halifax more familiar with its past and specifically the past of the area of Halifax I love very much – the Old North End.

Nat

One thought on “I’m Back… Summer 2014

  1. Nathaniel Smith, I would love to receive your blog when you post it. How do I go about doing that? I was made aware of your wonderful blog this morning through the Halifax Examiner.

Leave a Reply

